導航預授權: 藥物

此圖片: 你的最後一個心髒病專家預約, 你的醫生開了一種新的藥物來治療的高膽固醇. 護士告訴你,他們要求的預授權,將讓你知道,當他們聽到從後面保險公司. 感謝您的護士離開辦公室.

所以...真正剛剛發生的,什麼是你的保險有什麼關係?
預授權是放置在需要醫生從你的福利計劃獲得反超前,你的計劃將涵蓋藥物某些藥物的限制. 有時,他們被稱為預批准, 或事先批准或事先授權, 但他們都意味著同樣的事情. 這種做法在所有類型的保險共同, 甚至與政府資助像聯邦醫療保險, 醫療補助, 或TRICARE.

保險公司將審查你的醫生的辦公室發送的請求,並決定, 根據他們的政策, 如果你符合他們的標準用藥. 就像你將需要預先批准的汽車貸款或抵押; 這個過程是典型的與保險公司. 但是,為什麼你必須去通過它?

批准事先授權是很常見的有嚴重副作用的藥物, 那些當與其他藥物聯合有害, 或者是經常被誤用. 要么, 如果你的醫生開的藥物時更便宜的藥物可能工作一樣, 您的健康計劃可能需要授權更昂貴的藥物. 你的醫生可能還需要提供文件,你已嘗試並沒有為你工作好或得了嚴重的副作用的藥物您的健康計劃.

之後,健康計劃已經完成了他們的評論, 你和你的醫生都應該接受的決定, 通常以書面形式. 這個過程可能需要長達 30 天. 然而, 如果你的醫生認為是等待長可能會傷害你, 迫切 (所謂的加急) 請求可以被提交. 在那時候, 您應該收到內作出決定 72 營業時間.

此信息的一部分 “它的事項授權途徑” 內容系列發展為心臟項目的事項的一部分.

更多專家文章從PAF

Navigating Pre-Authorizations: Medications

Picture this: At your last cardiologist appointment, your doctor prescribed a new medication to treat your high cholesterol. The nurse tells you that they have requested pre-authorization and will let you know when they hear back from your insurance company. You thank the nurse and leave the office.

So… what really just happened and what does your insurance have to do with it?
A pre-authorization is a restriction placed on certain drugs that require your doctor to get the go-ahead from your benefit plan before your plan will cover the medication. Sometimes they are called pre-approvals, or prior approvals or prior authorizations, but they all mean the same thing. This practice is common in all types of insurance, and even with government-sponsored coverage like Medicare, Medicaid, or Tricare.

Your insurance company will review the request sent in by your doctor’s office and decide, based on their policies, if you meet their criteria for the medication. Much like you would need to be pre-approved for an auto loan or a mortgage; this process is typical with insurance companies. But why do you have to go through it?

Approved prior authorization is common for medications that have serious side effects, ones that are harmful when combined with other medications, or that are often misused. Or, if your doctor prescribes a medication when less expensive drugs might work the same, your health plan may require authorization for the more expensive medication. Your doctor may also have to provide documentation to your health plan of medications you have tried that did not work well for you or had serious side effects.

After the health plan has completed their review, you and your doctor should both receive the decision, typically in writing. This process can take up to 30 days. However, if your doctor feels that waiting that long might harm you, an urgent (called expedited) request can be submitted. At that point, you should receive a decision within 72 business hours.

This information is part of the “It Matters Empowerment Pathways” content series developed as part of the Matters of the Heart project.

More Expert Articles From PAF