六種方法病人權益基金會可以幫助你

病人權益基金會誕生於創始人南希·達文波特 - 恩尼斯的使命,以保護患者的同時從他們的戰鬥疾病和他們的保險公司. 自那時候起, 該組織已擴大到幫助患者額外醫療准入問題,並照顧其他常見的障礙. 從個性化的個案管理服務,共同支付救濟方案, PAF提供患者和他們的照顧者的專用患者資源的陣列,以幫助引導他們通過,他們可能面臨的任何醫療路障.

1) 案例管理 – 在病人權益基金會的心臟是個案管理部門. 個案經理 (的CM) 通過與他們合作,直接解決他們的醫療保健相關的問題提供個性化的支持和指導病人及其照顧者. CMS將協商預授權, 上訴, 和計費問題旁邊的病人. 他們還努力協助保險教育和招生, 並告知患者他們的聯邦僱員的保護. PAF的CMS非常了解訪問的新興治療和臨床試驗的好處, 並能幫助患者屏幕新銳選項,可以進一步開放的治療方案. 國家武裝, 為患者州和地方資源, 以及適當的經濟援助機會, 個案經理,為患者提供誰的作品,以減輕他們的醫療負擔,允許更加注重漸入佳境的倡導者. 如果您或您認識的人需要幫助, 請致電我們今天的案例管理部門在 1 (800) 532-5274 或訪問 www.patientadvocate.org/gethelp.

2) 共同負擔費用減免 – 其中最常見的問題PAF患者的經驗是醫療債務的破壞性影響. 在 2004, 組織開展了共同支付救濟 (CPR) 計劃面向提供給誰是有困難的保險的病人直接財政援助,得到他們的藥物由醫生開. 心肺復甦計劃提供具體診斷贈款,以幫助患者支付的是對待自己的診斷醫藥產品. 自該計劃啟動, PAF的CPR基金提供了超過 $232 萬人尋求治療的患者援助. 要了解更多關於該計劃, 資格和開放式基金, 請訪問www.copays.org/diseases.

3) 獎學金倖存者 – 在PAF早年, 達文波特 - 恩尼斯發現無數的復發患者,其中學後教育由於被影響到他們的疾病. 儘管他們的診斷, 這些學生在學術上表現出色, 服務社會, 並展示了驅動器和渴望上大學. 倖存者節目的獎學金誕生給這些學生一個機會,而不對他們的肩膀的經濟負擔重接受高等教育. 該方案提供了 60 個別病人的獎學金總額超過 $400,000, 而今天繼續提供年度獎學金的學生. 要了解更多信息,請訪問, www.patientadvocate.org/scholarships.

4) 財政援助基金 – 很多時候加入的醫療費用可以應變病人現有的家庭支出預算. 該程序明確規定了這些家庭的費用額外的財政支持. 誰滿足金融和醫療資格標準的患者可申請助學金, 包括交通資金. 提供先來先得贈款和分配,直到資金用完. 有興趣申請財政援助的患者應免費電話致電 1 (855) 824-7941.

5) 國家保險和保險不足資源目錄 – 無保險和保險不足的資源目錄的搜索工具,為患者提供預防性的數組, 情緒化, 金融, 和生存方案適合支持他們的需求. 同 35 支持可供選擇類別, 該搜索工具可即刻識別,可以幫助選項. 也可作為一個應用程序, 耐心, 護理人員, 和供應商可以在旅途中訪問幫助. 沒有保險的病人應該訪問www.patientadvocate.org/uninsured~~V和保險不足的患者應訪問www.patientadvocate.org/underinsured~~V以了解更多的社區資源.

6) 患者授權系列 – PAF舉辦一系列研討會面向教育和授權病人的知識,他們需要在衛生環境,倡導自己. 內容包括患者頻繁路障, 比如構建一個字母的吸引力和尋找可用資源為未保險.

 

更多專家文章從PAF

Six Ways Patient Advocate Foundation Can Help You

Patient Advocate Foundation was born out of founder Nancy Davenport-Ennis’ mission to protect patients from simultaneously fighting their illness and their insurance company. Since then, the organization has expanded to help patients with additional healthcare access issues and other common barriers to care. From individualized case management services to co-payment relief programs, PAF offers patients and their caregivers an array of dedicated patient resources to help guide them through any healthcare roadblocks they may face.

1) Case Management – At the heart of Patient Advocate Foundation is the Case Management department. Case Managers (CMs) provide individualized support and guidance to patients and their caregivers by working with them directly to resolve their healthcare-related issues. CMs will negotiate pre-authorizations, appeals, and billing problems alongside the patient. They also work to assist in insurance education and enrollment, as well inform patients about their federal employee protections. PAF’s CMs are knowledgeable about the benefits of accessing emerging treatments and clinical trials, and can help screen patients for cutting-edge options that may further open their treatment options. Armed with national, state and local resources for patients, as well as appropriate financial relief opportunities, case managers provide patients with an advocate who works to reduce their healthcare burden allowing a greater focus on getting better. If you or someone you know needs help, please call our Case Management department today at 1 (800) 532-5274 or visit www.patientadvocate.org/gethelp.

2) Co-Pay Relief – One of the most common issues PAF patients experience is the crippling effects of medical debt. In 2004, the organization launched the Co-Pay Relief (CPR) program geared to provide direct financial assistance to insured patients who were having difficulty affording their medication prescribed by their physician. The CPR program offers diagnosis-specific grants to help patients pay for pharmaceutical products that treat their diagnosis. Since the program launched, PAF’s CPR fund has provided over $232 million in assistance to patients seeking treatment. To learn more about the program, eligibility and open funds, please visit www.copays.org/diseases.

3) Scholarship for Survivors – During PAF’s early years, Davenport-Ennis noticed countless recurring patients whose post-secondary education was impacted due to their illness. Despite their diagnosis, these students excelled academically, served the community, and demonstrated the drive and desire to attend college. The Scholarship for Survivors program was born to give those students a chance to attend higher education without the weight of financial burden on their shoulders. The program has provided over 60 individual patient scholarships totaling over $400,000, and continues to provide annual scholarships to students today. To learn more please visit, www.patientadvocate.org/scholarships.

4) Financial Aid Funds – Many times added healthcare expenses can strain a patient’s existing budget for household bills. This program provides extra financial support specifically for these household costs. Patients who meet the financial and medical eligibility criteria may apply for grants, including funding for transportation. Grants are provided on first-come first served basis and are distributed until funds are depleted. Patients interested in applying for financial assistance should call toll free at 1 (855) 824-7941.

5) National Uninsured and Underinsured Resource Directory – The Uninsured and Underinsured Resource Directories are search tools providing patients with an array of preventive, emotional, financial, and survivorship programs geared to support their needs. With 35 categories of support to choose from, this search tool instantly identifies options that can assist. Also available as an app, patients, caregivers, and providers can access help on the go. Uninsured patients should visit www.patientadvocate.org/uninsured and underinsured patients should visit www.patientadvocate.org/underinsured to learn more about available community resources.

6) Patient Empowerment Series – PAF hosts a webinar series geared to educate and empower patients with the knowledge they need to advocate for themselves in a healthcare situation. Topics covered include frequent patient roadblocks, such as constructing a letter for appeal and finding resources available for the uninsured.

 

More Expert Articles From PAF