什麼是經批准的預授權均值?

預授權是放置在某些藥物的限制, 測試, 或者要求你的醫生醫療服務首先檢查並獲准之前,你的計劃將涵蓋項目. 這個額外的步驟既有助於你的醫生和保險公司感到舒適的醫療項目需要和必要的醫療的照顧.

有時,他們被稱為預批准, 或之前批准, 或現有的授權, 但他們都意味著同樣的事情. 這種做法在所有類型的保險共同, 即使有政府資助像聯邦醫療保險, 醫療補助, 和TRICARE.

當你的醫生決定,你需要一個服務或藥物, 它需要從您的健康計劃預授權, 你的醫生的辦公室將提出一個請求到你的健康計劃獲得批准,執行服務或藥店,以填補處方. 一些計劃讓病人檔案自身事先授權, 但多數情況下這是必須配合醫生的辦公室啟動了一個進程.

通常,醫生將有一個想法,如果你需要的醫療很可能需要這個額外的步驟. 然而, 因為醫生不可能跟上所有的計劃細節對他們所有的患者, 它為您尋找出這些可能出現的情況是個好主意. 問您的保險公司 你的醫生,如果事先授權是必要的始終是一個好主意.

經批准的預授權是不付款的保證, 但它是你的健康計劃的意圖的一個很好的跡象來支付服務或藥物. 以及, 如果你有一個預授權批准, 你的保險並不樂觀,他們將支付 100% 費用. 您還在負責你的分享,你會提供正常的服務或藥物, 包括通過規劃設計提出任何共同支付或共保.

值得考慮的是,預授權僅適用於特定的時間量,可能需要定期更新. 對於藥物或正在進行治療, 續費工作相同
方式使得初始事先授權過程. 經常, 健康計劃正在尋找的信息,這種藥物或治療是你的病情有幫助. 如果您對測試或服務獲得事先批准,但時間框架內不安排其保險公司獲准, 那麼你的醫生的辦公室將需要重新提交,要求批准一次.

此信息的一部分 “它的事項授權途徑” 內容系列發展為心臟項目的事項的一部分.

更多專家文章從PAF

What Does an Approved Pre-Authorization Mean?

A pre-authorization is a restriction placed on certain medications, tests, or health services that require your doctor to first check and be granted permission before your plan will cover the item. This extra step helps both your doctor and the insurer feel comfortable that the medical item is needed and medically necessary for your care.

Sometimes they are called pre-approvals, or prior approvals, or prior authorizations, but they all mean the same thing. This practice is common in all types of insurance, even with government-sponsored coverage like Medicare, Medicaid, and Tricare.

When your doctor decides that you need a service or medication, and it requires pre-authorization from your health plan, your doctor’s office will put a request into your health plan to get approval to perform the service or for the pharmacy to fill the prescription. Some plans allow patients to file their own prior authorizations, but most often this is a process that must be initiated with the doctor’s office.

Often your doctor will have an idea if the healthcare you need is likely to require this extra step. However, since your doctor cannot possibly keep up with all the plan details for all their patients, it’s a good idea for you to look out for these possible scenarios. Asking your insurer and your doctor if a prior authorization is necessary is always a good idea.

An approved pre-authorization is not a guarantee of payment, but it is a good indication of your health plan’s intentions to pay for the service or medication. As well, if you do have an approved preauthorization, your insurance is not promising that they will pay 100% of the costs. You are still responsible for your share as you would a normal service or medication, including any co-payments or coinsurance set forth by your plan’s design.

Something to consider is that pre-authorizations are only valid for a specific amount of time and may require periodic renewal. For medications or ongoing treatments, the renewals work the same
way that the initial prior authorization process. Often, health plans are looking for information that the medication or treatment was helpful for your condition. If you received prior authorization for a test or service but do not schedule it during the timeframe the insurance company allowed, then your doctor’s office will need to resubmit to ask for approval once more.

This information is part of the “It Matters Empowerment Pathways” content series developed as part of the Matters of the Heart project.

More Expert Articles From PAF