保險的語言

健康保險素養是哪個個人有處理能力的程度, 了解周圍保險計劃的規則,並利用這些知識來訪問他們的基本醫療衛生服務. 可以理解, 你要明白,你的管理保健計劃的更大過程的能力是要了解所使用的詞語的能力,與你的計劃通信時, 供應商和藥劑師.

字說事

患者的醫療術語

畫報在最近的調查數據, 病人權益基金會已經證明,對於一些周邊的醫療和健康保險中最常用術語, 少 59% 患者認為他們在的話中的意思信心.

招生過程中使用的關鍵的詞彙和醫療保險的用法, 包括扣除, 共同支付, 網絡, 涵蓋的服務和排除服務由患者過於頻繁混淆. 此外, 我們的調查數據顯示這些詞的理解和便於招生過程,也是一個病人的計劃的最終滿意度,他們選擇之間存在明顯的相關性.

醫療保健政策, 法律和趨勢的消息,甚至在冷水器實際上每天討論. 單詞此列表提供可能影響您的醫療保健和大家你周圍的醫療條件.

樸實的語言詞彙有關您計劃使用的術語

為了減少這種混亂和幫助患者更好的了解,他們將在醫療保健可能遇到的行話, 下面的詞彙是一種資源來幫助患者了解這些詞用通俗易懂的語言定義.

商業健康保險

私人盈利性公司,以換取提供由參保繳納保險費健康保險. 商業保險計劃,可以在許多不同的方式組織,並與眾多計劃類型經常提供. 又稱私人醫療保險. 又稱私人保險. 聽起來好像: Kəmərshःə升HELTHInSHo͝awrəns

覆蓋

他們介紹一些你的醫療費用,以換取溢價你和保險公司之間的協議. 如果你有覆蓋到位, 您同意該協議的條款. 聽起來好像: 千電子伏(該)行

覆蓋優勢

的定義的醫療程序的整個包, 治療, 你的保險計劃文件中列出的處方和服務在保險人同意提供您的名義賠償. 又稱好處. 聽起來好像: 的benɪfɪt

覆蓋服務

醫療服務, 被你的網絡覆蓋範圍內的上市程序或治療,即保險人已同意提供代付款. 聽起來好像: kuhv兒'd SER-EZ等。

雇主為基礎的保健計劃

健康保險贊助,由雇主協調,提供給你作為一名僱員. 許多雇主為基礎的醫療保險計劃的保費由雇主部分涉及, 降低你的保費所欠金額. 也被稱為基於工作的健康計劃. 聽起來好像: əmploiər總線HELTH計劃

註冊日期

當你為健康保險簽約,並正式日期提出申請並登記手續. 聽起來好像: DATinrōlmənt

健康保險卡

通過您的保險公司簽發的錢包大小的卡片,當註冊完成並開始覆蓋. 該卡作為保險的證明,並且包含關於參保會員基本信息, 該計劃的結構, 共同支付和共同保險和有聯繫的信息到達保險公司. 聽起來好像: HELTHInSHo͝awrənsKARD

健康保險市場

一個購物資源,人們可以比較, 研究和購買保險計劃,為下一年的計劃. 市集是在每個國家可用,是唯一的地方,你可以有資格和收取額外稅收抵免,以幫助抵消每月保費的成本為自己選擇的方案. 也被稱為市場. 聽起來好像: märkətˌplās

健康保險

在您同意支付溢價的公司,以換取幫助支付醫療服務費用的一種合同類型,你應該在覆蓋的時間段要求他們. 你必須支付保費,即使你沒有在此期間得到任何照顧. 又稱保險. 聽起來好像: HELTHInSHo͝awrəns

健康維護組織

一個計劃,你定於服務時支付,以換取與保健相關規定共同支付和共同保險金額較高的溢價. 大多數HMO的沒有抵扣, 並構造,以減少暴露於大外的自付費用. 保健組織還可能需要您的關心將其網絡的成員,以提供被覆蓋, 與供應商這個網絡的外部接收護理有限或沒有好處. 聽起來好像: HELTH MANT(該)nənsorɡənəzaSH(該)ñ

高扣除健康計劃

通常具有較低的保費,但必須在保險公司之前,必須滿足更高的扣除一個計劃開始向您支付護理. 聽起來好像: 嗨dədəktəb(該)升HELTH計劃

保險

在您同意支付溢價的公司,以換取幫助支付醫療服務費用的一種合同類型,你應該在覆蓋的時間段要求他們. 你必須支付保費,即使你沒有在此期間得到任何照顧. 又稱健康保險. 聽起來好像: inSHoorəns

市井

一個購物資源,人們可以比較, 研究和購買保險計劃,為下一年的計劃. 市集是在每個國家可用,是唯一的地方,你可以有資格和收取額外稅收抵免,以幫助抵消每月保費的成本為自己選擇的方案. 又稱健康保險市場. 聽起來好像: märkətˌplās

航海家

被訓練的個人或組織,以幫助您為保險購物時, 並能協助完成招生簡章或評估計劃選擇. 導航儀必須是公正的,並努力幫助您找到適合您需求的最佳的健康計劃, 所有在沒有你的成本. 聽起來好像: GA-NA-和汗水

網絡

已經與你的計劃簽約醫療服務提供者以降低協商的速率提供您的護理. 這組供應商被稱為網絡或您的保險公司的網絡. 聽起來好像: NETWERK

公開招生

每年在這裡個人可以選擇或改變他或她的健康保險計劃下年計劃的限定時段. 公開報名時間和季節變化基礎上,尋求是否商業保險, 雇主為基礎的保險或醫療保險. 醫療補助不具有開放註冊期間,. 聽起來好像: 打開inrolmənt

首選提供商組織

提供給您以換取你的保費A型健康計劃, 這允許您訪問醫療機構的網絡, 如醫院和醫生誰同意提供你所關心以折扣率. 該計劃類型可以允許這些供應商之外的護理, 但通常會以更高的成本來這樣做. 也被視為PPO. 聽起來好像: 預VI-DAR或PRI-FER先得什麼座深

保費稅收抵免

納稅信用,可以幫助通過支付保費提供即時節省您通過健康保險市場中提供的醫療保險. 為了獲得保費稅收抵免必須滿足並在整個計劃年度維護資格標準. 又稱稅收補貼. 聽起來好像: prēmēəm費kredət

額外費用

當你決定在一個健康計劃報名, 這是您同意以換取支付其保險公司發行量,你的保險. 此量通常按月由於, 但是可以在其它頻率被充電. 如果您在計劃期間接收醫療機構任何照顧你必須支付保費金額而不管. 如果您不支付保費, 您要取消合同,保險人不具有對你的照顧付出. 聽起來好像: prēmēəm

私人保險

私人盈利性公司,以換取提供由參保繳納保險費健康保險. 商業保險計劃,可以在許多不同的方式組織,並與眾多計劃類型經常提供. 又稱私人醫療保險. 又稱商業健康保險. 聽起來好像: PrivitinSHoorəns

稅收補貼

納稅信用,可以幫助通過支付保費提供即時節省您通過健康保險市場中提供的醫療保險. 為了獲得保費稅收抵免必須滿足並在整個計劃年度維護資格標準. 又稱保費稅收抵免. 聽起來好像: prēmēəm費kredət

查獲服務

醫療保健您的保險公司已經表示,它不支付, 在你的計劃定義語言. 又稱排除服務. 聽起來好像: 供應iksklood

9 圖片

文章詞彙


看 "傳言稱事項" 解釋器影片

喋喋不休的事項討論 "公開招生"
喋喋不休的事項討論 "覆蓋和未覆蓋服務"

這種“言說事”詞彙表和“傳言稱事項”材料是由病人權益基金會和支持的品牌項目的一部分病人行動理事會. 上面提到的調查數據進行分析,內與收集響應從十一月醫療消費者中隨機抽取了“健康保險市場體驗調查”項目 2014 到一月 2015.

The Language of Insurance

Health insurance literacy is the degree to which individuals have the capacity to process, understand the rules surrounding insurance plans and utilize that knowledge to access their basic health services. Understandably, your ability to understand the larger processes that govern your healthcare plan is the ability to understand the words used when communicating with your plan, providers and pharmacists.

Words That Matter

A Patient’s Healthcare Glossary

Illustrated in recent survey data, Patient Advocate Foundation has documented that for some of the most commonly used terms surrounding healthcare and health insurance, as little as 59% of patients felt that they were confident in the meaning of the words.

Critical vocabulary used during enrollment and the usage of health insurance, including deductible, co-payment, network, covered services and excluded services are too frequently confused by patients. In addition, our survey data has shown a distinct correlation between the understanding of these words and the ease of enrollment process and also a patient’s ultimate satisfaction of the plan they selected.

Healthcare policies, laws and trends are discussed practically everyday in the news and even at the watercooler. This list of words provides terms that can impact your healthcare and the healthcare of everyone around you.

Plain Language Glossary for Terms Used by Your Plan

To reduce this confusion and help patients better understand the jargon they will likely encounter in healthcare, the below glossary is a resource to help patients understand these words with plain language definitions.

Commercial Health Insurance

Health insurance offered by private for-profit companies in exchange for a premium paid by enrollees. Commercial insurance plans can be structured in many different ways and are frequently offered with numerous plan types. Also known as private health insurance. Also known as Private Insurance. 

Coverage

An agreement between you and your insurer where they cover some of your health care costs in exchange for a premium. If you have coverage in place, you have agreed to the terms of the agreement.

Covered Benefits

The entire package of defined medical procedures, therapies, prescriptions and services listed within your insurance plan documents in which the insurer agrees to provide compensation on your behalf. Also known as Benefits. 

Covered Services

The medical services, procedures or treatments that are listed within your coverage details that the insurer has agreed to provide payment on your behalf. 

Employer-Based Health Plan

Health insurance sponsored and coordinated by your employer and available to you as an employee. Many employer-based health plan premiums are covered in part by the employer, lowering the amount you owe in premiums. Also referred to as job-based health plans.

Enrollment Date

The date when you signed up for health insurance and officially submitted your application and enrollment paperwork.

Health Insurance Card

A wallet-sized card issued by your insurer when enrollment is complete and coverage begins. The card serves as proof of insurance and contains basic information regarding the insured member, the plan structure, co-payments and co-insurance and has contact information to reach the insurer.

Health Insurance Marketplace

A shopping resource where people can compare, research and purchase insurance plans for the next plan year. Marketplaces are available in each state and are the only places where you can qualify and receive premium tax credits to help offset the cost of your monthly premium for the plan you select. Also known as Marketplace. 

Health Insurance

A type of contract in which you agree to pay a premium to a company in exchange for help paying for the cost of medical services should you require them during the time period of coverage. You must pay the premium even if you do not receive any care during that period. Also known as Insurance. 

Health Maintenance Organization

A plan where you pay a higher premium in exchange for defined co-payments and co-insurance amounts associated with care due at the time of service. Most HMO's do not have a deductible, and are structured to reduce the exposure to large out-of-pocket costs. HMOs may also require your care to be provided by members of its network in order to be covered, with limited or no benefits for care received by a provider outside of this network. 

High Deductible Health Plans

A plan that typically has lower premiums but higher deductibles that must be met before the insurer begins to pay toward your care. 

Insurance

A type of contract in which you agree to pay a premium to a company in exchange for help paying for the cost of medical services should you require them during the time period of coverage. You must pay the premium even if you do not receive any care during that period. Also known as Health Insurance.

Marketplace

A shopping resource where people can compare, research and purchase insurance plans for the next plan year. Marketplaces are available in each state and are the only places where you can qualify and receive premium tax credits to help offset the cost of your monthly premium for the plan you select. Also known as Health Insurance Marketplace. 

Navigator

An individual or organization that is trained to help you when shopping for insurance, and can assist in completing enrollment forms or evaluating plan options. Navigators are required to be unbiased and work to help you find the best health plan for your needs, all at no cost to you. 

Network

Medical providers that have contracted with your plan to provide your care at a reduced negotiated rate. This group of providers is referred to as your network or your insurer's network. 

Open Enrollment

A defined period of time each year when an individual may select or change his or her health insurance plan for the following plan year. Open enrollment periods and time of year vary based on whether you are seeking Commercial insurance, employer-based insurance or Medicare insurance. Medicaid does not have an open enrollment period. 

Preferred Provider Organization

A type of health plan provided to you in exchange for your premium, that allows you access to a network of medical providers, such as hospitals and doctors who agree to provide you care at a discounted rate. This plan type may allow care outside of these providers, but typically will do so at a higher cost to you. Also seen as PPO. 

Premium Tax Credit

A tax credit that can help you afford health coverage through the Health Insurance Marketplace by providing instant savings on premium payments. In order to receive the Premium Tax Credit you must meet and maintain eligibility criteria throughout your plan year. Also known as Tax Subsidy. 

Premium

When you decide to enroll in a health plan, this is the amount you agree to pay in exchange for having an insurer issue you insurance coverage. This amount is typically due on a monthly basis but can be charged in other frequency. You must pay the premium amount regardless if you receive any care by medical providers during your plan term. If you do not pay your premium, you are canceling the contract and the insurer does not have to pay towards your care. 

Private Insurance

Health insurance offered by private for-profit companies in exchange for a premium paid by enrollees. Commercial insurance plans can be structured in many different ways and are frequently offered with numerous plan types. Also known as private health insurance. Also known as Commercial Health Insurance.

Tax Subsidy

A tax credit that can help you afford health coverage through the Health Insurance Marketplace by providing instant savings on premium payments. In order to receive the Premium Tax Credit you must meet and maintain eligibility criteria throughout your plan year. Also known as Premium Tax Credit.

Uncovered Services

Healthcare your insurer has stated that it does not pay for, as defined in your plan language. Also known as Excluded Services.

9 IMAGES

VOCABULARY ARTICLES


Watch "Chatter That Matters" Explainer Videos

Chatter that Matters discusses "Open Enrollment"
Chatter That Matters discusses "Covered & Uncovered Services"

This “Words that Matter” glossary and “Chatter that Matters” materials are part of a branded project supported by Patient Advocate Foundation and the Patient Action Council. Survey data referenced above was analyzed within with the “Health Insurance Marketplace Experience Survey” project which collected responses from a random sample of healthcare consumers from November 2014 to January 2015.