我們的任務

病人權益基金會 (PAF) 是國家 501 (C)(3) 非營利性組織,以美國人提供個案管理服務和財政援助慢性, 危及生命或使人衰弱的疾病.

我們的歷史

南希達文波特 - 恩尼斯, 病人權益基金會的創始人開始參與立法改革代表癌症患者,而她的一個好朋友, 謝麗爾黑暗, 在作戰雙方乳腺癌和她的保險公司. 作為謝麗爾奮勇她的奮鬥, 南希主動與弗吉尼亞專責小組保險改革 - 分享先前未被充分代表患者的角度和戰鬥改革癌症患者保險. 勝利專案組帶著弗吉尼亞州眾議院獲得通過 240 通過委託瑪麗牛逼贊助. 基督徒 1994.

謝麗爾失去了她與乳腺癌的戰鬥在十二月 1994, 並在她的葬禮之夜, 作為世界其他國家在新年響了, 南希和傑克·埃尼斯寫商業計劃對解決所面臨的患者喜歡自己的朋友謝麗爾的問題面向兩個互補的非營利組織. 國家病人權益基金會 (NPAF) 和病人權益基金會是當晚出生在概念不久之後變成了現實.

謝麗爾在她的戰鬥中,面對實力作為一個靈感那些病人權益基金會為他們的工作,並與病人需要互動.

我們的情況下,管理者倡導和調解代表的患者提供了治療的訪問途徑, 治療藥物和設備視為被醫學界和科學界醫學上有效的,而努力尋找報銷支付護理的來源.

在夏天 2013, 創始並擔任CEO兩個PAF和NPAF超過後 17 年份, 南希達文波特 - 恩尼斯兩個組織的日常的日常管理走開, 其餘為榮譽退休主席. 在七月 2013, 艾倫·鮑爾奇博士. 被任命為首席執行官, 並負責這兩個組織的工作和領導.

今天, 既NPAF和PAF上的重要議題病人為中心的醫療保健中的前沿國家領導人,並作為患者有需要的聲音. 掌舵是一個執行委員會, 科學顧問委員會, 和榮譽董事 - 所有支持我們的合作夥伴的進展和慷慨的社會捐助成為可能.

慶祝我們的20週年 2016

在PAF操作的第一年,從一個小的工作 10 FT. 通過 10 FT. 辦公室, 方正南希達文波特 - 恩尼斯和兼職, 二志願工作人員提供個案管理援助 157 患者面臨的障礙訪問其規定的護理.  快進到 2017, 和PAF累計超過幫助 1 萬患者遍布所有 50 以支持國家通過近一個工作人員提供 200 專業人士. 在其20年的歷史相一致, PAF的使命是通過提供高度熟練的情況下,管理服務或財政援助,以解決與他們的疾病中最脆弱的時期訪問護理和克服金融障礙的能力問題,以幫助每次一個病人. NPAF被創建為姐妹組織通過倡導周圍的衛生保健接入和可承受解決共同問題的病人,擴大PAF的影響數以百萬計的規模. 在其漫長的歷史, NPAF影響主要的健康決策, 幫助建立在對患者保護與平價醫療法案終生受益範圍和預先存在的條件排除的禁令,並已重金聘請在試圖通過醫療債務減免法案. 今天, 首席執行官Alan鮑爾奇導致在我們的歷史記錄的重要里程碑,慶祝PAF和NPAF第二十年的服務,同時注重將定義組織的未來二十年的關鍵舉措的努力.

PAF里程碑

2016

四月 2016 分數 20 年服務患者
 
主機希望事務事件的第15屆年度承諾 & 16屆年度大會患者事件
 
完成了近 81,000 患者病例總額超過 820,000 結案自成立以來PAF的年度預算超過 $75 百萬

 

2014

PAF的共同支付救濟慶祝 10 多年的經營, 曾經協助過 126,000 耐心, 在分配 $200 億援助

 

2013

榮獲第一案例分析白金獎的案例管理
 
創辦人, 南希達文波特 - 恩尼斯後超過慶祝她的退休 17 多年來竭誠服務於PAF的

 

2010

第一年賺了PAF慈善導航的四星級 "優秀" 評分
 
PAF移動到新, 在漢普頓更大的總部所在地, VA

 

2006

PAF推出其金融援助基金司PAF內第一個程序啟動其MedCare行司內第一個程序

 

里程碑

(帳戶。)

2004

PAF啟動共同支付救助計劃

 

2001

PAF持有希望籌款盛會的首次年度承諾

 

2000

PAF獲得病人服務全國關注
 
在華盛頓特區的第一個病人國會宣傳活動

 

1999

全國金融資源指南, 第一版出版

 

1998

搬遷到新的辦公場所在紐波特紐斯, VA有四名全職員工

 

1997

PAF出版了第一全長病人為中心的出版物
 
公共網站的啟動www.patientadvocate.org

 

1996

開業於四月 1996
 
在我們的第一年, 志願者個案經理協助 157 患者在 10 ×10英尺的倉庫空間辦公室
 
到今年年底, PAF已經fundraised剛剛超過10萬$的組織收入工作

Our Mission 

Patient Advocate Foundation (PAF) is a national 501 (c)(3) non-profit organization which provides case management services and financial aid to Americans with chronic, life threatening and debilitating illnesses. 

Our History

Nancy Davenport-Ennis, Founder of Patient Advocate Foundation became involved in legislative reform on behalf of cancer patients while a dear friend of hers, Cheryl Grimmel, was battling both breast cancer and her insurance company. As Cheryl valiantly fought her fight, Nancy volunteered with the Virginia Task Force for Insurance Reform - sharing the previously underrepresented patient’s perspective and fought to reform insurance coverage for cancer patients. Victory for the task force came with the passage of Virginia House Bill 240 sponsored by Delegate Mary T. Christian in 1994.

Cheryl lost her battle with breast cancer in December 1994, and on the night of her funeral, as the rest of the world was ringing in the New Year, Nancy and Jack Ennis wrote business plans for two complementary nonprofit organizations geared towards solving the issues faced by patients like their friend Cheryl. National Patient Advocate Foundation (NPAF) and Patient Advocate Foundation were born in concept that night and became a reality shortly thereafter.

Cheryl's strength in the face of her battle serves as an inspiration to those at Patient Advocate Foundation as they work and interact with patients in need.

Our case managers advocate and mediate on behalf of patients to provide avenues of access for therapies, therapeutic agents and devices deemed medically efficacious by the medical and scientific communities while working to find sources of reimbursement to pay for care.

In the summer of 2013, after founding and serving as CEO for both PAF and NPAF for more than 17 years, Nancy Davenport-Ennis stepped away from the day-to-day management of both organizations, remaining as Chair Emerita. In July 2013,  Alan Balch Ph.D. was named Chief Executive Officer, and is responsible for the operation and leadership of both organizations.

Today, both NPAF and PAF are national leaders on the forefront of important issues within patient-focused healthcare and serve as the voice of patients in need. At the helm are an Executive Board, Scientific Advisory Committee, and Honorary Board -  all made possible by support from our Partners in Progress and generous community donors.

Celebrating our 20th year in 2016

In PAF's first year of operation working from a small 10 ft. by 10 ft. office, Founder Nancy Davenport-Ennis and a part-time, volunteer staff of two provided case  management assistance to 157 patients faced with barriers accessing their prescribed care.  Fast-forward to 2017, and PAF helped a cumulative total of more than 1 million patients located throughout all 50 states with support provided by a staff of nearly 200 professionals. Consistent throughout its 20-year history, the mission of PAF is to help one patient at a time by providing highly skilled case management service or financial aid to resolve problems related to their ability to access care and overcome financial hurdles during the most vulnerable times of illness. NPAF was created as a sister organization to expand the scale of PAF's impact to millions by advocating for solutions to common patient problems surrounding healthcare access and affordability. Over its long history, NPAF influenced major health policy decisions, helping to establish a ban on lifetime benefit limits and pre-existing condition exclusions in the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act and has been heavily engaged in trying to pass the Medical Debt Relief Act. Today, CEO Alan Balch leads the effort to celebrate PAF and NPAF’s twenty years of service by documenting important milestones in our history while focusing on the key initiatives that will define the next twenty years of the organizations.

PAF Milestones

2016

April 2016 marks 20 years of serving patients
 
Hosts 15th Annual Promise of Hope Affair event & 16th annual Patient Congress Event
 
Completed nearly 81,000 patient cases totaling over 820,000 closed cases since inception PAF’s annual budget exceeds $75 million

 

2014

PAF’s Co-Pay Relief celebrates 10 years of operations, having assisted over 126,000 patients, allocating over $200 million in assistance

 

2013

Awarded first Case in Point Platinum Awards for Case Management
 
Founder, Nancy Davenport-Ennis celebrates her retirement after more than 17 years of dedicated service to PAF

 

2010

First year PAF earned Charity Navigator's 4-star "exceptional" rating
 
PAF moves to new, larger headquarters location in Hampton, VA

 

2006

PAF launches first program within its Financial Aid Fund Division PAF launches first program within its MedCare Line Division

 

Milestones

(cont.)

2004

PAF launches the Co-Pay Relief Program

 

2001

PAF holds first annual Promise of Hope fundraising gala event

 

2000

PAF gains national attention for patient services
 
First Patient Congress advocacy event in Washington DC

 

1999

National Financial Resource Guide, first edition published

 

1998

Relocated to new office space in the Newport News, VA with four full-time employees

 

1997

PAF publishes its first full-length patient-focused publication
 
Launch of public website www.patientadvocate.org

 

1996

Opened in April 1996
 
During our first year, volunteer case managers assisted 157 patients in a 10 x 10-foot warehouse space office
 
By the end of the year, PAF had fundraised just over $100K in organizational revenue to operate