經常問的問題

我們來這裡是為了幫助. 這是最常見的問題的列表,當涉及到我們的基礎,我們提供的服務.
如果您正在尋求幫助處理常見障礙患者, 我們建議您與我們的教育材料連接, 包括出版物, 用品, 網絡直播事件或PAF的Facebook頁面.
誰做您服務?

與我們對我們的運營的第一天使命是一致的 1996, 我們集中我們的服務,正面臨一種慢性的病人, 威脅生命的或使人衰弱的疾病.

所有年齡段的患者都與我們聯絡 50 各州和地區在美國, 和誰在保險招收計劃類型或保險公司不管, 或者誰是目前沒有保險. 我們無法幫助患者有關的事故問題, 工人補償索賠, 弊端, 非慢性疾病,如感染或骨折, 或心理健康診斷. 此外, 我們的工作人員無法提供與您的病情或治療路徑具體的醫療諮詢.

如何CAN患者得到幫助?

為了通過PAF送達或它的部門之一, 患者應首先調用期間我們的正常工作時間確定為特定部門的免費電話號碼. 如果你更喜歡有一個家庭成員或照顧者與我們從事以您的名義, 這個人可以發起呼叫. 一旦我們團隊的成員連接, 你會被篩選合格,並與最有能力幫助您的方案專業的工作人員匹配.

我們的服務和通信都以電子方式提供使用電子郵件或在線工具或現場互動通過電話.

PAF的各種服務領域, 包括被推出任何新計劃, 可以在我們的發現 "連接到服務" 菜單. 下面是參考的主要部門的電話號碼的快速列表.

我們的 案例管理 分裂是我們的病人服務的核心,並提供一對一的對口支援,幫助患者, 照顧者或供應商解決許多不同類型的影響保健醫療保健問題.
免費電話 1 (800) 532-5274

PAF的 共同負擔費用減免 是在幫助患者得到他們的藥物共付和免賠額特別關注我們的服務的divison.
免費電話 1 (866) 512-3861
24/7 在線應用門戶在 www.copays.org

金融援助基金司 的PAF提供小額贈款誰滿足財務和醫療標準的患者. 提供先來先得贈款和分配,直到資金用完. 每個基金從業資格和流程可能會因資金需求.
免費電話 1 (855) 824-7941
24/7 Onlie應用門戶在 www.patientadvocate.org/financialaid

什麼時間是你打開?

我們的個案管理服務是週一至週四期間從週 8:30 美國東部時間和關閉在 5:00 東部時間. 上週五的,我們接受電話 8:30 上午 - 4:00 東部時間. 我們在週末和大多數主要的聯邦假日關閉.

我們的共同支付救濟和財政援助基金組織工作人員接受申請人週一直播電話 - Thursday from 8:30 我到東部 5:00 pm eastern time and Friday from 8:30 上午 - 4:00 pm eastern. 此外, 門戶網站接受申請, 讓你查看審核狀態,並提交支出的請求 24 每天在線時間.

All PAF offices and programs are closed on the weekends and most major federal holidays.

要花多少錢的成本獲得幫助?

由病人權益基金會和共付救濟提供的所有服務都是免費的患者和代表病人的那些工作. 作為一個非營利性的, 我們募捐和接受捐贈,以幫助支持這些服務,以確保患者能夠無需額外的負擔訪問質量的護理和治療,他們需要.

我可以得到幫助從一個以上的PAF各項計劃?

是, 如果你符合資格,每個程序獨立, 您可以從一個或多個該患者支持項目中獲得支持.

HOW ARE YOU資?

PAF是 501 C(3) 非營利,慈善機構,並依賴於企業和個人的捐贈,提供不花錢的服務,需要幫助的患者. 除了籌款活動, PAF培養了許多額外的私人資金組織合作,為提供服務的合作夥伴關係或履行贈款或社區項目的. 我們很自豪能夠分享到我們的工作,承諾被許多人共享, 就證明了一個事實,即在 98% 或者我們的內部員工,每年承諾以個人名義向PAF.

如果你有興趣在提供免稅捐款,以幫助支持我們的努力, 請訪問我們的捐贈 頁面在線 或致電我們.

怎麼可以個案管理幫助我?

個案經理工作 你一起 找到你所面臨的問題的解決方案. 他們與你的工作,讓你有過程的一部分一直以來, 並利用自己的專業知識,並學會了策略,以您的名義最大限度地提高醫療資源.

例如, 案例管理者可以幫助你減少保健的經濟負擔. 去做這個, 它們可能有助於尋求資​​金支持的潛在來源,可以幫助支持你的藥物或醫生共付, 運輸費用, 甚至住房和公用事業費用. 他們還可以工作,協商付款計劃與治療供應商,以便您在醫療費每月更實惠您的家庭預算.

對於誰需要幫助與醫療保險登記或獲得社會方案的患者, 我們的情況下,管理者可以判斷是否合格的醫療保險, 醫療補助, 社會保障收入, 社會保障殘疾保險, 或市場的健康保險計劃.

保險導航也由個案經理提供服務的一個常見問題. 患者可以接受服務,以幫助確定符合條件的臨床試驗, 計費和編碼問題, 或預授權或拒絕處理上訴.

對於患者在勞動力, 我們的情況下,管理者可以提供支持,幫助患者維持他們的就業和工作場所獲得的好處, 像短時, 長期殘疾或健康保險. 個案經理也有助於必要時為FMLA法律保護評估資格.

要認識到的個案經理沒有錢或財政援助分配是很重要的, 但你的工作來確定資格,通過其他部門或外部機構存在的財政援助計劃.

如果我需要幫助,但我的情況不適合你的使命?

我們很抱歉,你的情況是不是在其中我們可以直接通過我們的服務提供支持. 我們建議您花一些時間來瀏覽我們的網站,你會發現,你能在這裡找到適合的資料你自己的情況.

PAF還致力於編譯許多國家和地方資源,以幫助患者與一些常見的障礙, 您可以在直接訪問 全國金融資源目錄. 該目錄提供了無限的搜索,並提供給所有的醫療保健消費者 36 不同類別的援助, 其中許多可能是在方案中受益.

HOW ARE YOU FROM不同NPAF - 國家病人權益基金會?

病人權益基金會和全國病人權益基金會成立以來的份額,許多共享病人為中心目標的重要歷史, 然而, 與不同的任務和活動的獨立運營機構.

病人權益基金會在沒有成本提供直接的一對一服務的個人,從美國的任何區域, 那正面臨醫療准入問題, 醫療債務危機, 而引起的一種慢性留職的問題, 危及生命, 或衰弱的診斷. PAF的全國總部設在漢普頓, VA並在加利福尼亞州的其他工作人員辦公室, 愛荷華州, 和格魯吉亞. PAF每年100,000名患者提供〜通過各種病人程序.

國家病人權益基金會 冠軍在聯邦健康關懷改革, 州, 和地方層面, 以及社區系統,包括企業和醫療保健機構內, 這將有助於防止誰已經轉向病人權益基金會幫助個人遇到的問題. NPAF線束誰需要通過PAF幫助和促進他們的呼聲誰需要知道發生了什麼給患者在他們的社區誰正在漏洞在醫療系統影響決策者患者的集體經驗. 這聲音有助於影響的法律和制度的改變可能影響當前和未來的患者數以百萬計. NPAF是總部設在華盛頓, DC, 並包括志願者整個U.S網絡. 他們的社區制定的變化範圍內的工作.

我想志願者PAF. 我怎麼參與進來?

感謝您的關注志願服務為我們! 有很多方法可以參與進來,以幫助支持我們的使命.

加入國民病人權益基金會 (NPAF)的志願者宣傳網絡 - 志願者是現任和前任患者, 護理人員, 醫療保健專業人士和誰在乎保健的我國優秀人才. 您可以自定義您的志願服務經歷,以配合您的利益, 技能和時間表. 志願者能夠靈活有關承諾的時間- 一些給幾分鐘一個星期,別人給多小時了一個月. 為倡導者和對關鍵問題的定期更新正在進行的培訓提供. 了解更多信息, 請訪問 這裡.

成為國家法律資源網的成員作為志願者法律專家- 始建於 1996 謝爾登Weinhaus, Weinhaus&Potashnick在聖. 路易, 密蘇里州, 這個論壇已經影響了數百名病人誰是面臨複雜的醫療保健的障礙. 與醫療相關事宜的專業知識和貢獻自己的服務,更好地患者生命的願望有興趣的律師被邀請成為網絡成員通過提交 應用.

成為你愛的人的倡導者- 是什麼意思有所作為? 製作一個差異可能意味著你的妹妹訪問從她的產科/婦科護理, 你的父親收到, 並報銷突破療法, 或者你的鄰居有前往只有一個醫療機構接受他規定的癌症治療. 您可以通過你的時間給予幫助解決全國各地的跨越或者是正確的在你的後院問題使醫療保健領域的差異. 有必要努力工作有所作為? 是, 有時, 但它也可以是非常有益的和有很多樂趣!

了解更多有關志願機會 這裡!

怎麼會我的捐贈幫助其他病人?
通過免稅捐款有助於病人權益基金會幫助我們繼續幫助美國人獲得所需的醫療服務的機會. PAF專業人員直接干預代表的大致 100,000 每年患者, 使他們能夠獲得規定的醫療服務和藥品, 克服障礙的保險, 找到資源支持的生活費成本,同時治療, 評估和保持健康保險,更好地管理, 或減少, 與他們的疾病相關的外的口袋醫療債務.
我有資格申請獎學金?

在 2000, 創辦人, 董事會的前任首席執行官兼董事長榮譽退休, 南希達文波特 - 恩尼斯, established the Scholarship for Survivors program by offering educational scholarships to individuals who have suffered (或者是痛苦) a life threatening disease or chronic condition. 這些學生有, 儘管他們的疾病/病症, 學術上表現出色, 服務社會, 並渴望追求中等教育.

To be eligible for the scholarship, applications pursuing bachelor's degrees or higher must be a legal resident of the U.S. under the age of 25, must have been diagnosed with and/or been actively treated for a chronic, life threatening or debilitating disease within the past 5 年份. 以及, our application must be submitted with an essay, medical history, financial documents, and letters of recommendation. To get more details regarding the scholarship, visit our page 這裡 or contact Shawn Nason at events@patientadvocate.org 要么 (757) 952-1370.

I'VE APPLIED FOR THE SCHOLARSHIP, WHEN WILL I HEAR BACK?

After you have applied for our PAF scholarship, your application will be reviewed and you will receive an email from us with an expected date of decision, usually 3-4 months after the application deadline. The deadline for this 2018’s scholarship cycle was February 24, 2018.

Applicants that were selected to receive funding will be personally contacted and a contract that outlines the funding guidelines will be forwarded.

To reach out to Patient Advocate Foundation for services or additional questions, please call us toll free at (800) 532-5274 or visit our 聯繫 page.

Frequently Asked Questions

We are here to help. This is a list of the most commonly asked questions when it comes to our foundation and the services we provide.
If you are seeking help dealing with common patient obstacles, we suggest you connect with our educational materials, including publications, articles, webcast events or PAF's Facebook page.
WHO DO YOU SERVE?

Consistent with our mission on our first day of operations in 1996, we focus our services to those patients that are facing a chronic, life-threatening or debilitating diseases.

Patients of all ages reach out to us from all 50 states and territories in the United States, and who are enrolled in insurance regardless of plan type or insurer, or who are currently uninsured. We are unable to help patients with issues related to accidents, workers comp claims, malpractice, non-chronic illnesses like infections or broken bones, or mental health diagnoses. In addition, our staff cannot provide specific medical advice related to your condition or path of treatment.

HOW CAN PATIENTS GET HELP?

In order to be served by PAF or one of its divisions, patients should first call the toll free number identified for that particular division during our regular business hours. If you prefer to have a family member or caregiver engage with us on your behalf, that person can initiate the call.  Once connected with a member of our team, you will be screened for eligibility and matched with a professional staff member best equipped to help for your scenario.

Our services and communication are all provided electronically using email or online tools or with live interaction over the phone.

PAF's various service areas, including any new programs that are launched, can be found in our "Connect With Services" menu.  Here is a quick list of the main division phone numbers for reference.

Our Case Management division is the core of our patient services and provides one-on-one assistance to help patients, caregivers or providers resolve many different types of healthcare issues impacting care.
Toll-Free 1 (800) 532-5274

PAF's Co-Pay Relief is a divison of our services that focuses specifically on helping patients afford their medication copayments and deductibles.
Toll-Free 1 (866) 512-3861
24/7 Online Application Portal at www.copays.org

The Financial Aid Fund Division of PAF provides small grants to patients who meet financial and medical criteria. Grants are provided on first-come first served basis and are distributed until funds are depleted. Qualifications and processes for each fund may differ based on fund requirements.
Toll-Free 1 (855) 824-7941
24/7 Onlie Application Portal at www.patientadvocate.org/financialaid

WHAT HOURS ARE YOU OPEN?

Our case management services are open Monday through Thursday during the week from 8:30 am eastern time and close down at 5:00 pm eastern time.   On Friday's we accept calls from 8:30 am - 4:00 pm eastern time.   We are closed on the weekends and most major federal  holidays. 

Our Co-Pay Relief and Financial Aid Fund staff accept live calls from applicants Monday - Friday from 8:30 am eastern to 5:00 pm eastern time.   In addition, online portals accept applications, let you check your approval status and submit expenditure requests 24 hours a day online.  

 All PAF offices are closed on the weekends and most major federal  holidays. 

HOW MUCH DOES IT COST TO GET HELP?

All services provided by Patient Advocate Foundation and Co-Pay Relief are free to the patient and those working on behalf of a patient.  As a nonprofit, we fundraise and accept donations that help support these services to ensure that patients are able to access the quality care and treatment they need without additional burden. 

CAN I GET HELP FROM MORE THAN ONE OF PAF'S PROGRAMS?

Yes, if you meet the eligibility for each program independently, you may access support from one or more of our patient support programs.  

HOW ARE YOU FUNDED?

PAF is a 501 c(3) nonprofit charity and relies on corporate and individual donations to provide services at no cost to patients that need help.   In addition to fundraising events, PAF cultivates a number of relationships with additional private funding organizations to provide service partnerships or fulfill grant or community-level projects.  We are proud to share that commitment to our work is shared by many, as evidenced by the fact that over 98% or our internal staff pledge a personal donation to PAF each year.

If you are interested in providing a tax-deductible contribution to help support our efforts, please visit our donate page online or call us.

HOW CAN CASE MANAGEMENT HELP ME?

Case managers work alongside you to find solutions to the problems you are facing. They work with you so that you are part of the process all along, and use their professional knowledge and learned strategies to maximize healthcare resources on your behalf.

For example, case managers can help you reduce the financial burden of care. To do this, they might assist by seeking potential sources of financial support that can help support your medication or physician copayments, transportation expenses, or even housing or utility costs. They may also work to negotiate payment plans with treating providers so that you your medical bills are more affordable each month in your household budget.

For patients who need help with enrollment in health insurance or access to social programs, our case managers may determine eligibility for Medicare, Medicaid, Social Security Income, Social Security Disability Insurance, or Marketplace health insurance plans.

Insurance navigation is also a common issue served by case managers. Patients may receive services that help identify eligible clinical trials, billing and coding issues, or appeals for pre-authorization or treatment denials.

For patients in the workforce, our case managers may provide support that helps patients maintain their employment and access workplace benefits, like short-term, long-term disability or health insurance. Case managers also help evaluate eligibility for FMLA legal protections when appropriate.

It's important to realize that case managers do not have money or financial aid to distribute, but work with you to determine eligibility for financial aid programs that exist through other divisions or external organizations.

WHAT IF I NEED HELP BUT MY SITUATION DOES NOT FIT INTO YOUR MISSION?

We are sorry to hear that your situation was not one in which we were able to offer support directly through our services. We encourage you to take some time to explore our website and you may find that you are able to find information here applicable to your own situation.

PAF also works to compile many national and local resources to help patients with a number of common barriers, which you can access directly at the National Financial Resource Directory. The Directory offers unlimited searches and is made available to all healthcare consumers with 36 different categories of assistance, many of which could be beneficial in your scenario.

HOW ARE YOU DIFFERENT FROM NPAF - NATIONAL PATIENT ADVOCATE FOUNDATION?

Patient Advocate Foundation and National Patient Advocate Foundation share an important history of inception and many shared patient-focused goals, however, are separate operating organizations with different missions and activities. 

Patient Advocate Foundation provides direct one-on-one services at no cost to individuals from any area of the United States, that are confronting healthcare access issues, medical debt crisis, and job retention problems caused by a chronic, life-threatening, or debilitating diagnosis. PAF's national headquarters is based in Hampton, VA with additional staff offices in California, Iowa, and Georgia. PAF serves ~100,000 patients each year through its various patient programs.

National Patient Advocate Foundation champions heathcare reforms at federal, state, and local level, as well as within community systems including businesses and healthcare providers,  that will help prevent the problems experienced by individuals who have turned to Patient Advocate Foundation for help. NPAF harnesses the collective experience of patients who need help by PAF and further their voices to decisionmakers who need to know what's happening to patients in their communities who are being impacted by vulnerabilities in the healthcare system. This voice helps impact laws and system changes that can impact millions of current and future patients. NPAF is based in Washington, DC, and includes a network of volunteers throughout the U.S. that work within their communities to enact change.

I WANT TO VOLUNTEER FOR PAF.  HOW DO I GET INVOLVED?

We appreciate your interest in volunteering for us! There are many ways you can get involved to help support our mission.

Join National Patient Advocate Foundation (NPAF)’s volunteer advocacy network -  Volunteers are current and former patients, caregivers, health care professionals and people who care about the quality of health care in our country.  You are able to customize your volunteer experience to match your interests, skills and schedule. Volunteers are able to be flexible about the time commitment- some give a few minutes a week and others give many hours a month.  Ongoing training for advocates and regular updates on key issues is offered. For more information, please visit us here.

Become a member of the National Legal Resource Network as a volunteer legal expert- Originally founded in 1996 by Sheldon Weinhaus, of Weinhaus & Potashnick in St. Louis, Missouri, this forum has impacted hundreds of patients who are facing complex healthcare hurdles. Interested attorneys with expertise in healthcare related matters and a desire to contribute their services to better the lives of patients are invited to become a network member by submitting an application.

Become an advocate for someone you love- What does it mean to make a difference? Making a difference could mean that your sister has access to care from her OB/GYN, your father receives, and is reimbursed for a breakthrough therapy, or your neighbor has to travel to only one medical facility to receive his prescribed cancer treatment. You can help make a difference in healthcare by giving of your time to help solve problems that span across the nation or are right in your backyard. Is hard work necessary to make a difference? Yes, sometimes, but it can also be very rewarding and a lot of fun!

Find out more about volunteer opportunities here!

HOW WOULD MY DONATIONS HELP OTHER PATIENTS?
Contributing to Patient Advocate Foundation via a tax-deductible donation helps us continue to help Americans get access to needed healthcare services. PAF professionals directly intervene on behalf of roughly 100,000 patients each year, enabling them to access prescribed healthcare services and medications, overcome insurance barriers, locate resources to support cost of living expenses while in treatment, evaluate and maintain health insurance coverage and better manage, or reduce, the out-of-pocket medical debt associated with their illness.
AM I ELIGIBLE FOR A SCHOLARSHIP?

In 2000, Founder, former CEO and Chairman Emerita of the Board, Nancy Davenport-Ennis, established the Scholarship for Survivors program by offering educational scholarships to individuals who have suffered (or are suffering) a life threatening disease or chronic condition. These students have, despite their disease/condition, excelled academically, served the community, and desire to pursue a secondary education.

To be eligible for the scholarship, applications pursuing bachelor's degrees or higher must be a legal resident of the U.S. under the age of 25, must have been diagnosed with and/or been actively treated for a chronic, life threatening or debilitating disease within the past 5 years. As well, our application must be submitted with an essay, medical history, financial documents, and letters of recommendation. To get more details regarding the scholarship, visit our page here or contact Shawn Nason at events@patientadvocate.org or (757) 952-1370.

I'VE APPLIED FOR THE SCHOLARSHIP, WHEN WILL I HEAR BACK?

After you have applied for our PAF scholarship, your application will be reviewed and you will receive an email from us with an expected date of decision, usually 3-4 months after the application deadline. The deadline for this 2018’s scholarship cycle was February 24, 2018. 

Applicants that were selected to receive funding will be personally contacted and a contract that outlines the funding guidelines will be forwarded. 

To reach out to Patient Advocate Foundation for services or additional questions, please call us toll free at (800) 532-5274 or visit our Contact page.